FIRST DAY

MONDAY, JANUARY 3, 2022

ANNUAL SESSION

ROLL CALL

The Monroe County Legislature convened in an annual session on Monday, January 3, 2022, in the Legislative Chambers, County Office Building, Rochester, New York.

David Grant, Clerk of the Legislature and Chairperson Pro Tem, called the members to order at 6:00 P.M.

Upon calling the roll, the following members responded to their names:

District 1	G. Blake Keller	District 15	George J. Hebert
District 2	Jackie Smith	District 16	David Long
District 3	Tracy DiFlorio	District 17	Maria Vecchio
District 4	Frank X. Allkofer	District 18	John B. Baynes
District 5	Richard B. Milne	District 19	Kathleen A. Taylor
District 6	Sean McCabe	District 20	Robert J. Colby
District 7	Brian E. Marianetti	District 21	Rachel Barnhart
District 8	Matthew Terp	District 22	Mercedes Vazquez-Simmons
District 9	Paul Dondorfer	District 23	Linda Hasman
District 10	Howard S. Maffucci	District 24	Albert Blankley
District 11	Sean M. Delehanty	District 25	Carolyn Delvecchio Hoffman
District 12	Steve Brew	District 26	Yversha M. Roman
District 13	Michael Yudelson	District 27	Sabrina A. LaMar
District 14	Susan Hughes-Smith	District 28	Ricky Frazier
		District 29	William Burgess

The Honorable Adam Bello, Monroe County Executive, administered the Oath of Office to the Legislators.

Intro. No. 1

ELECTION NO. 1 OF 2022

ELECTION OF A TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Brew nominated Brian E. Marianetti to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Mr. Dondorfer and Ms. Taylor seconded the nomination.

Mr. Baynes nominated Albert Blankley to serve as Temporary President of the County Legislature. Ms. Hughes-Smith seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Mr. Grant declared that the nominations be closed and called the roll for the election of a Temporary President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain."

Upon calling the roll, Mr. Brian E. Marianetti was elected to serve as Temporary President of the Legislature by the following vote:

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2022 Page 2

Marianetti — Legislators Allkofer, Brew, Colby, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Keller, LaMar, Marianetti, McCabe, Milne, Smith, Taylor, Terp – 15

Blankley — Legislators Barnhart, Baynes, Blankley, Burgess, Frazier, Hasman, Delvecchio Hoffman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, Roman, Vazquez-Simmons, Vecchio, Yudelson – 14

Note: Temporary President Marianetti called upon Reverend James C. Simmons of Baber African Methodist Episcopal Church, to give the invocation at the invitation of Legislator Sabrina Lamar.

Note: The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by Majority Leader Steve Brew.

Intro. No. 2 ELECTION NO. 2 OF 2022

ELECTION OF A PERMANENT PRESIDENT

Mr. Brew nominated Sabrina LaMar to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Mrs. DiFlorio, Mr. Hebert and Mr. Terp seconded the nomination.

Ms. Barnhart nominated Yversha M. Roman to serve as Permanent President of the County Legislature. Ms. Hasman seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, Temporary President Marianetti declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of a Permanent President of the County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for a candidate, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Sabrina LaMar was elected to serve as Permanent President by the following vote:

LaMar — Legislators Allkofer, Brew, Colby, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Keller, LaMar, Marianetti, McCabe, Milne, Smith, Taylor, Terp – 15

Roman — Legislators Barnhart, Baynes, Blankley, Burgess, Delvecchio Hoffman, Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, Roman, Vazquez-Simmons, Vecchio, Yudelson – 14

COMMITTEE TO ESCORT PRESIDENT TO THE CHAIR

Temporary President Marianetti appointed Tashmere LaMar, son of Sabrina LaMar, as a Committee to escort the new President to the Chair. President LaMar delivered an acceptance address to the Legislature and expressed her appreciation to everyone.

Intro. 3	Colby and Dondorfer (Motion to Sever Legislature Clerk's Office Staff Vote)
M. 1	
29-0	

Intro. No. 4 ELECTION NO. 3 OF 2022

ELECTION OF THE CLERK OF THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Baynes nominated David Grant to serve as Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. Ms. Roman seconded the nomination.

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2022 Page 3

There being no other nominations, President LaMar declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for candidates, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, David Grant, was elected to serve as Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature by the following vote:

Grant — Legislators Allkofer, Barnhart, Baynes, Blankley, Brew, Burgess, Colby, Delehanty, Delvecchio Hoffman, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Frazier, Hasman, Hebert, Hughes-Smith, Keller, LaMar, Long, Maffucci, Marianetti, McCabe, Milne, Roman, Smith, Taylor, Terp, Vazquez-Simmons, Vecchio, Yudelson - 29

Intro. No. 5 ELECTION NO. 4 OF 2022

ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY CLERK OF THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Brew nominated Frank Keophetlasy to serve as Deputy Clerk of the County Legislature. Mr. Marianetti seconded the nomination.

Ms. Baynes nominated Theresa Bertolone to serve as Deputy Clerk of the County Legislature. Ms. Roman seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, President LaMar declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for candidates, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Frank Keophetlasy was elected to serve as Deputy Clerk of the Legislature by the following vote:

Keophetlasy — Legislators Allkofer, Brew, Colby, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Keller, LaMar, Marianetti, McCabe, Milne, Smith, Taylor, Terp – 15

Bertolone — Legislators Barnhart, Baynes, Blankley, Burgess, Delvecchio Hoffman, Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, Roman, Vazquez-Simmons, Vecchio, Yudelson – 14

Intro. No. 6

ELECTION NO. 5 OF 2022

ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY CLERK OF THE COUNTY LEGISLATURE

Mr. Brew nominated Ian Watkins to serve as 2nd Assistant Deputy Clerk of the County Legislature. Mr. Marianetti seconded the nomination.

Ms. Baynes nominated Saul Maneiro to serve as 2^{nd} Assistant Deputy Clerk of the County Legislature. Ms. Roman seconded the nomination.

There being no other nominations, President LaMar declared that the nominations be closed and instructed the Clerk to call the roll for the election of 2nd Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Monroe County Legislature. If an individual chose not to vote for candidates, they were to respond with the word "abstain".

Upon calling the roll, Ian Watkins was elected to serve as 2^{nd} Assistant Deputy Clerk of the Legislature by the following vote:

Watkins — Legislators Allkofer, Brew, Colby, Delehanty, DiFlorio, Dondorfer, Hebert, Keller, LaMar, Marianetti, McCabe, Milne, Smith, Taylor, Terp – 15

Monroe County Legislature January 3, 2022 Page 4

Maneiro — Legislators Barnhart, Baynes, Blankley, Burgess, Delvecchio Hoffman, Frazier, Hasman, Hughes-Smith, Long, Maffucci, Roman, Vazquez-Simmons, Vecchio, Yudelson – 14

Note: President LaMar designated Legislator Brian E. Marianetti as Vice President of the Legislature.

Upon motion by Mr. Steve Brew, the Legislature adjourned at 6:40 P.M. until Tuesday, January 11, 2022 at 6:00 P.M.

David Grant Clerk of the Legislature