Library (LIBRA)

Contact Information

Patricia Uttaro



115 South Ave.
Rochester, NY 14604
Phone: 585 428-8045
Fax: 585 428-8353

Providing Library Services to Monroe County

The Monroe County Library System (LIBRA) is a federation of 20 independent public libraries located in Monroe County, New York. The system, one of 23 public library systems in New York State, was chartered by the state Board of Regents in 1954 to provide services to public libraries and to provide library services to those with special needs within the County.

Each library is responsible for providing library services to its local service area. Libraries are governed by their own boards of trustees and are funded by local taxes.

Services provided by the Monroe County Library System are funded by New York State and the County of Monroe and include: computerized circulation, database development, technical services, outreach/extension, shipping and delivery, consultant and advisory service, selection and purchasing lists, promotions, administration (grants, communications, etc.) reference and information referral, interlibrary loan, Internet access, online public access catalog and other electronic services via the LIBRA network. Most of the above services are provided under a contract with the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County, 115 South Ave., Rochester, NY.

Picture of girl in library.

Member libraries:

  • Brighton
  • Brockport
  • Chili
  • East Rochester
  • Fairport
  • Gates
  • Greece
  • Irondequoit
  • Hamlin
  • Henrietta
  • Mendon (Honeoye Falls)
  • Ogden
  • Parma (Hilton)
  • Penfield
  • Pittsford
  • Riga (Churchville)
  • Rush
  • Scottsville
  • Webster
  • City of Rochester

The Monroe County Library System is governed by an 11-member board of trustees appointed by the County Legislature.

  print this page    email this page    back to top

About · Accessibility and Standards · RSS News Feed
Disclaimer and Privacy Policy · Non-Discrimination Policy

Official Site of Monroe County, New York. Copyright © 2015 Monroe County. All Rights Reserved.
Comments or suggestions? Please e-mail the webmaster.

Get Adobe Reader free from Get the free Flash Player from Macromedia.