Pistol Permits

Applying for a Pistol Permit

Picture of pistol permit paperwork.

You may apply for a pistol permit if you have been a resident of Monroe County for at least six months at the time of application. Under New York State Law, you must be 21 years of age to be issued a pistol permit and to purchase a pistol. You are not required to buy or own a firearm at the time of application and your permit will not expire even if you never place a firearm on it.

Choose the appropriate form based on where you live and print a double-sided application. New York State requires the application form to be double-sided. Complete packets are also available in our office - 39 West Main Street, Room 101, Rochester 14614. 

In order to avoid unnecessary delays in the processing of your application, please read and follow all instructions in the packet carefully and be sure to complete all forms before returning to our office. Applicants must appear in-person to turn in their application. The cost to apply for a pistol permit is specified in the application packet.

REMINDER:  PRINT A DOUBLE-SIDED APPLICATION.

NOTE: If you have lived in Monroe County for fewer than 3 years, you must still provide the 4 Monroe County character references who have known you for as long as you have lived here, PLUS 3 additional references who live in the state or county where you previously lived.  Print out 3 copies of this Proof of Character Form for your additional references.  Their signatures must be notarized.  For a sample of what the completed Proof of Character form might look like, please click HERE

Plastic Cards

Since November 23, 2015, all new pistol permit applicants have been issued plastic cards. Current pistol permit holders may convert to a new plastic permit by submitting the Conversion Form linked below. Once we process your form, we will contact you to come in for your plastic card.  While you are waiting to receive your new plastic card please know that you may continue to make amendments to your paper permit.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to call the Pistol Permit Unit at 585-753-1642 or email MCPistols@MonroeCounty.gov. 

COMING SOON! 

We are currently updating the Frequently-Asked-Questions component of this page.  Please check back for more information or contact our office at 585-753-1642 or MCPistols@MonroeCounty.gov. 

New York SAFE Act Information

Please click here for information about the NYSAFE Act Opt-Out Privacy Form. The link will direct you to the State Police web page where you will find the form located at the bottom of the page. Opt-out forms should be returned to the County in which your permit was issued. We cannot accept forms for other Counties. Your Firearms License # is the Carry number on your permit.

NYSAFE Act “Opt-Out” Privacy Form


The Governor’s Office has established a website to answer questions about the New York SAFE Act. Please visit http://www.nysafeact.com/ for more information.

On the website you will find interactive information that helps determine if your firearm classifies as an assault weapon. You are also able to register your assault weapon(s) directly online. Assault weapon registration forms can also be obtained by visiting a NYS Trooper station. For locations and phone numbers, visit http://www.troopers.ny.gov/.

If you have additional questions, the New York State Police have established a hotline 1-855-LAW-GUNS (1-855-529-4867).

Back to top

Amending a Pistol Permit

The permit holder must appear in person whenever he or she wishes to add or delete a firearm from their license as an amendment form needs to be signed by the permit holder. The cost to complete an amendment to your permit is $3. A Bill of Sale and a Consent Form are available below for your use.

Adding a Firearm from an Individual - When a firearm is obtained from an individual, a dated notarized bill of sale or a notarized statement of consent is required to add it to the new owner’s permit. The bill of sale or consent form must show the names, addresses, pistol permit carry numbers and the original date of issue of both the seller’s and the buyer's permits. The firearm must be described by make, caliber, serial number and whether it is a revolver or semi-automatic. 

A Bill of Sale will indicate that the seller will be removing the firearm(s) from their permit and will be transferring ownership to the buyer, regardless if there is a purchase price. The seller must also take the firearm off their permit by completing an amendment in our office.

A Consent Form indicates that the two individuals involved in the transaction will be co-registering the firearm.

**Please note that your Brady Check must be current prior to the addition of any firearm from an individual. This check must be completed once every 5 years and there is no cost to the permit holder. Please complete the Brady Check form and return it to our office for processing; you may not submit the form directly to law enforcement. You will receive the completed Brady check in the mail for your own personal records. Once you receive this paperwork, you will be allowed to add firearms from an individual.

Adding a Firearm from a Dealer - When a firearm is obtained from a dealer, the original bill of sale on dealer’s letterhead is required. The bill of sale must list the seller’s name, address, phone number, Federal Firearms License (FFL) number, New York State Dealer License number, and description of the firearm. Once you have added the firearm with the Monroe County Clerk's Office, you will be issued a coupon to present to the dealer to pick up your firearm.

Federal law provides that pistols obtained or sold out of state may be shipped in or out of state only by a licensed dealer. For more information on adding or selling/shipping a firearm out of state, please contact a local FFL dealer.

Adding a Firearm from a Deceased Individual - In order to add a firearm from a deceased individual, you will need a custody report from a police agency, a Letter of Testamentary from Surrogate's Court that shows the appointment of an Executor or Administrator of the estate (contact Surrogates Court for proper paperwork at 585-371-3310), a notarized statement from the Executor or Administrator of the estate granting permission to the person wishing to add the firearm, and a copy of the death certificate. We also ask that you provide the decedent's pistol permit if available. For your convenience, please use the following form which serves as the notarized statement from the Executor/Administrator of the Estate when wanting to add a firearm from a deceased person.

**Please note that your Brady Check must be current prior to the addition of any firearm from an individual. This check must be completed once every 5 years and there is no cost to the permit holder. Please complete the Brady Check form and return it to our office for processing; you may not submit the form directly to law enforcement. You will receive the completed Brady check in the mail for your own personal records. Once you receive this paperwork, you will be allowed to add firearms from an individual.

Address ChangePicture of pistol permit.

A change of address requires the permit holder to notify the Monroe County Clerk’s Office within 10 days of the change, in accordance with New York State Law. You must appear at the County Clerk’s Office and bring your pistol permit with you. The cost is $5 if you already have a plastic card. 

Name Change

A change of name requires the permit holder to submit proof of the new name in the form of a marriage certificate or a court ordered name change, along with a copy of the updated driver’s license. Either mail or email those copies along with the New Amended Permit form and a Brady Check form found below.  The application must be approved by a Judge. 

Back to top

Transferring a Pistol Permit

To transfer your pistol permit out of Monroe County, first contact the new county for any restrictions they may have. The Transfer Form located below should be completed and then returned to our office either in person or by mail to Monroe County Clerk’s Office, 39 West Main Street, Room 101, Rochester, NY 14614. A $5 check made payable to the Monroe County Clerk must be included with your Transfer Request form. Please allow 2-3 weeks for the process of our transfer. You may then contact the new County on how to proceed.

Lost, Stolen or Replacement Pistol Permit

If you permit was lost, stolen or is too worn to read, please submit for a New Amended Permit using the form below.  Once we receive the form, we will process the information and contact you when it is time to visit our office to print the replacement.  All replacement permits are plastic.  The total cost is $12, which includes new photos (if you previously had a plastic card, the cost is $5).  If your permit is lost or stolen you cannot carry your firearms until a new license is issued

Pistol Permit Recertification

You may have heard about an upcoming Pistol Permit Recertification requirement.  This process will be conducted by the New York State Police but, in order to help Monroe County Pistol Permit holders, information will be made available at my office as we are made aware of it. As we are given additional information, we will be sure to pass it along. Here is the site to recertify: https://firearms.troopers.ny.gov/pprecert/welcome.faces

Here is the information that has been made available:

1)    The State Police have launched a web site where Pistol Permit Licensees can be recertified either online or by downloaded paper form. According to NYS Law, the deadline for recertifying is January 31, 2018 for all licenses issued prior to January 15, 2013. For those issued after January 15, 2013, the recertification deadline will be 5 years from the Original Date of Issue. 

2)    The Filer will need to list on the recertification form all firearms (not long guns/rifles) that are in their possession.  

3)    The recertification transaction is between the State Police and the Filer, not the County.

4)    The State Police will contact the Filer to resolve any discrepancies between the recertification application and their existing records.

5)    The goal of the State Police is to create a database for use by Law Enforcement, Licensing Officers, and the Mental Health community.  All applications will be cross-checked against the data bases of the DMV, Office of Mental Health, and Federal Criminal Data Files.

6)    The State Police will NOT be issuing a card stating a permit holder is recertified.  The Filer will receive a letter stating that their permit has been recertified.  There will be no requirement that the Filer carry proof of recertification.

7)     The responsibility of the Filer will be fulfilled when the recertification form is submitted to the State Police.

8)     If the form is submitted electronically the Filer will receive a receipt that can be printed out. If submitted by mail it is recommended that the application be sent by certified mail so that there will be proof of mailing.

9)     At the end of recertification, the State Police will send to the licensing officer (in our case, Monroe County Court Judges via the Monroe County Clerk's office) a list of people who are in their records and did not recertify.  This aspect of the process is still being hashed out fully as there are different licensing officers in different NY counties.

Below is the section of the NYSAFE Act that refers to recertification:

Penal Law 400.10 (B)(b) All licensees shall be recertified to the division of state police every  five  years  thereafter.  Any license issued before the effective date of the chapter of the laws of two  thousand  thirteen  which  added this paragraph shall be recertified by the licensee on or before January thirty-first, two thousand eighteen, and not less than one year prior to such  date,  the state police shall send a notice to all license holders who have not recertified by such time. Such recertification shall be  in a  form  as  approved by the superintendent of state police, which shall request  the  license  holder's  name,  date  of  birth,  gender,  race, residential  address, social security number, firearms possessed by such license holder, email address at the option of the license holder and an affirmation that such license holder is not prohibited  from  possessing firearms.  The form may be in an electronic form if so designated by the superintendent of state police. Failure to  recertify  shall  act  as  a revocation  of  such license. If the New York state police discover as a result of the recertification process that a licensee failed to  provide a  change  of  address,  the New York state police shall not require the licensing officer to revoke such license.

Any additional questions about Recertification should be directed to the New York State Police at 1-855-529-4867.  

  print this page    email this page    back to top

About MonroeCounty.gov · Accessibility and Standards · RSS News Feed
Disclaimer and Privacy Policy · Non-Discrimination Policy

Official Site of Monroe County, New York. Copyright © 2017 Monroe County. All Rights Reserved.
Comments or suggestions? Please e-mail the MonroeCounty.gov webmaster.

Clerk Right Now